European Committee of the Regions

European Committee of the Regions

Created in 1992 by the Treaty of Maastricht and established in 1994, the Committee of the Regions (CoR) is the advisory body through which local and regional authorities can put forward their points of view on EU legislation.

The Committee of the Regions is consulted by the European Commission, the European Parliament, and the Council in areas that affect local or regional policy making. For example, the CoR draws up opinions on environment, economic and social cohesion, cross-border cooperation, (trans-European) transport, public health, employment, social policy, education, and culture. The Committee of the Regions may also draw up opinions on its own initiative.

The CoR is composed of 329 local and regional representatives, appointed by the Council for four years. Twelve Dutch members and twelve alternates reside in the Committee of the Regions, half of which is composed of provincial deputies, the other half is made up of local representatives.

Dutch regional ministers in the Committee of the Regions


  • Martijn van Gruijthuijsen, Province Noord-Brabant
  • Andy Dritty, Province Limburg
  • Michiel Rijsberman, Province Flevoland
  • Eddy van Hijum, Province Overijssel
  • Tjisse Stelpstra, Province Drenthe
  • Robert Strijk, Province Utrecht


  • Anita Pijpelink, Province Zeeland
  • Henk Staghouwer, Province Groningen
  • Jeannette Baljeu, Province Zuid-Holland
  • Ilse Zaal, Province Noord-Holland
  • John Berends, Province Gelderland
  • Klaas Fokkinga, Province Friesland